Public Land Survey System

Fairbanks Meridian

The Fairbanks Meridian, surveyed in 1910, has its Initial Point in 64°51'49.08"N latitude, 147°38'35.16"W longitude, and is the principal meridian governing land surveys in east-central Alaska. From this point the principal meridian is extended both north and south, and the controlling base line is run both east and west to govern all territory from the eastern boundary of the Kateel River meridian territory in the west, to the Alaska-Canada border in the east, and from the Copper River and Seward meridian territories in the south, to the southern boudnary of Umlat meridian territory in the north.