Public Land Survey System

Indian Meridian

The Initial Point for the Indian Meridian and base line was established just south of Fort Arbuckle by Ehud N. Darling and Theodore H. Barrett in 1870. The meridian extends north from the Red River to the south boundary of Kansas, in 97°14’30”W longitude. The Indian base line, in 34°30'N latitude, extends from the eastern border of Oklahoma to the western border of Oklahoma. The name for the principal meridian and base line was chosen after the Chickasaw and Choctaw Indians ceded territory in Oklahoma to the federal government. All land in the State of Oklahoma, except the Panhandle, is controlled by the Indian principal meridian. Ranges were run both east and west of the Indian Meridian, and survey townships were run both north and south of the Indian base line.